Conservation District Employees Association of New Hampshire



What's New

About Us

What We Do


Employee Directory



Fundraising Programs







About Us

The Conservation District Employees Association of New Hampshire was established on September 22, 1997 to develop, strengthen and promote the Conservation District programs in New Hampshire.  

The Association consists of full-time and part-time employees of the legally organized 10 New Hampshire County Conservation Districts. Associate membership is available to individuals, agencies, businesses and organizations whose objectives are to promote conservation of NH's natural resources. 

CDEA-NH is managed by a four-member Board of Directors which is elected by the general membership at the Annual Meeting. Officers include President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. Terms of office for President and Vice-President is for two years and limited to no more than two consecutive terms. 

History of Conservation Districts

Conservation Districts were organized over 60 years ago in response to devastating soil erosion conditions and to bridge the gap between federal technicians and private landowners. The first Soil Conservation District in the United States was organized in August 1937 in North Carolina. Forty-five states enacted such laws before the first New Hampshire statewide Soil Conservation District was created in May 1945. To administer the law within New Hampshire, a policy was adopted organizing ten county sub-districts. In August 1955, the law was then amended changing the sub-districts into ten Soil Conservation Districts, one in each county, and made them governmental subdivisions of the state.    

Board of Directors

Stacy Luke, President

Kerry Rickrode, Vice President

Diane Bennett, Secretary

Joan Richardson, Treasurer




Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2004 Conservation District Employees Association  of New Hampshire
Last modified: March 11, 2009